Beaufort High School wrestlers win Battery Creek's Coach Trap tournament

147873 articles in the archive and more added every day
High School Wrestling

Beaufort High School wrestlers win Battery Creek's Coach Trap tournament

Published Sunday, January 20, 2013   |  1000 Words  |  

Even as he sat on the bench to start the season, Kentrell Seabrook always remained engaged in the Beaufort High wrestling matches.

"I'm always in it," he said. "I'm yelling things that I see. I do it because it's my team. The Beaufort High Eagles, we're all together."

On Saturday at Battery Creek High School, Seabrook recorded likely the biggest victory of his short career, as his second-period pin of Wando's Hunter Allen clinched the Eagles' 54-17 win over the Warriors in the championship round of the Coach Trap Memorial Tournament.

Seabrook spent most of the early season watching from afar, as the junior was designated as the backup in the 285-pound weight class to Tyler Wilson, a state qualifier in 2012.

But a shrewd move at the start of the week by Eagles coach Bill Damude sent Wilson down to 220, thus bumping fellow senior state qualifer Clint Wright down to 195. Those decisions then opened up a spot for Seabrook at heavyweight, thanks in part to his hard work in practice and his vigilance from the bench.

"We just talked about how you've got all these good guys around you that you practice with every day," Damude recalled of his conversion this week with Seabrook. "They're going to be a lot tougher than any heavyweight you're going to face. You've got state placers and state qualifiers in all of these guys. We expected him to go out and wrestle as hard as he does in practice."

Seabrook rewarded Damude's confidence with the championship-clinching pin.

"It means a lot," Seabrook said. "This is just the second time Beaufort High has actually won this thing."

The Eagles captured last year's event as well, going 8-0 and giving Beaufort High its first victory in the tournament.

"Fantastic stuff," Damude said. "Kentrell has done a great job. I'm proud of him. I told these guys that we pointed to this week all season long as being a tough week. ... These guys were focused."

Perhaps no one more than Seabrook. He finished his first week in the lineup with a 5-0 record, which included a pin in his first start against Summerville and a decision two days later against Fort Dorchester.

His latest victory may have been his best. After trying several tactics against Allen, Seabrook finally managed to flip the heavyweight over his head midway through the second period. With Allen on his backside, Seabrook jumped on top of the Warrior for the pin, ballooning the Eagles' lead to an insurmountable 41-3.

The pin was the sixth consecutive at the time for the Eagles, who clinched the championship with five more weight classes to go. Trey Arant (160), Eric Blakely (170), Codrian Smalls (182), Wright (195) and Wilson (220) all registered pins of their own before Seabrook took the mat.

"That was quite impressive by these guys here," Damude said. "I didn't expect that margin of victory, but man, they got that ball rolling at 160 right on through."

Meanwhile, Battery Creek -- which started the day with a 52-19 loss to the Eagles in the semifinals -- came up short against Stratford in the third-place match, 43-30, in a back-and-forth affair.

Brian LaBean (132) and Deandre Johnson (160) led the way in the tournament for the Dolphins, going 4-0 and 5-0, respectively.

It was a step in the right direction for coach Nathan Day and Co., as Battery Creek (28-13) entered the season with just four returning starters.

"(It went) about like we were hoping for," he said. "It would have been nice to pull out that last one, but considering where we were in November, we're getting a little better."

Fourth-annual Coach Trap Memorial wrestling tournament

Saturday, at Battery Creek High School

Championship results

Beaufort High 54, Wando 17

Note: Match started at 145

106: Jake Sharp (BFT) dec. Darren Scott, 5-0

113: William Spann (BFT) pinned Saner Patson, 1st period

120: Dakota Dahabi (W) tech. fall Brahm Giddon, 20-5

126: Alex Cullen (W) dec. William Valentin, 7-1

138: Connor Gruel (BFT) maj. dec. Frank Krawl, 12-4

145: Forrest Kimbrell (BFT) tech. fall Josh Teates, 19-2

152: Joey Paragano (W) dec. Michael Holmes, 8-7

160: Trey Arant (BFT) pinned Connor Gansrow, 2nd period

170: Eric Blakely (BFT) pinned Jeremy Petit, 2nd period

182: Codrian Smalls (BFT) pinned Ryan Williams, 1st period

195: Clint Wright (BFT) pinned Brennan Medders, 1st period

220: Tyler Wilson (BFT) pinned Aaron Anderson-Roal, 1st period

285: Kentrell Seabrook (BFT) pinned Hunter Allen, 2nd period

Semifinal results

Beaufort High 52, Battery Creek 19

Wando 43, North Myrtle Beach 24

Consolation results

Round 3

Sumter 41, Beaufort High (JV) 21

James Island 42, Colleton County 28

Stratford 36, Hilton Head High 29

Round 4

Cane Bay 41, Bamberg-Ehrhardt 30

West-Oak 63, Sumter 6

Chapin 69, James Island 6

Stratford 48, Conway 18

Round 5

West-Oak 48, Cane Bay 22

Stratford 42, Chapin 24

Round 6

Battery Creek 43, West-Oak 27

Stratford 54, North Myrtle Beach 18

Round 7

Stratford 43, Battery Creek 30