Teachers in Beaufort, Jasper counties win classroom grants

147873 articles in the archive and more added every day

Teachers in Beaufort, Jasper counties win classroom grants

From staff reports
Published Thursday, November 8, 2012   |  349 Words  |  

The Palmetto Electric Trust and Palmetto Electric Cooperative gave out grants this week in Beaufort and Jasper counties, surprising teachers in their classrooms with the awards.

The check-giving marked the ninth year of the Bright Ideas program, in which $34,160 was distributed in Beaufort, Jasper and Hampton counties. In all, 48 grants were awarded this week.

The Bright Ideas grants give teachers money for innovative classroom projects. Some of the money comes from Operation Round Up, in which the electric cooperative's members round their electric bill up to the nearest whole dollar. Additional funding was provided by Palmetto Electric's Million Dollar Hole-In-One Shootout and Women Involved in Rural Electrification chapters, according to a news release.

Beaufort County winners are:

  • Helen Goodman, Okatie Elementary
  • Valecia Whitfield, Okatie Elementary
  • Karen Hurst, Cross School
  • Sherry White, Cross School
  • Jenny Williams, Cross School
  • Susan Dee, H.E. McCracken Middle
  • Donna Sue Spruce, Red Cedar Elementary
  • Ly Nguyen, Michael C. Riley Elementary
  • Sarah Benedik, Hilton Head Preparatory School
  • Peg Hamilton, Hilton Head Preparatory School
  • Sister Emmanuel Gross, St. Francis Catholic School
  • Laura Geib, Hilton Head Island Middle
  • Elizabeth MacMurray, Hilton Head Island High
  • Matthew Pheiffer, Hilton Head Island High
  • John Quindlen, Hilton Head Island High
  • Kathryn Weatherhead, Hilton Head Island High
  • Treva Kent, Hilton Head Island Elementary
  • Jasper County winners are:

  • Megan Hales, Beaufort-Jasper Academy for Career Excellence
  • Steve Shamblen, Beaufort-Jasper Academy for Career Excellence
  • Paula Greab, Hardeeville Elementary
  • Angela Mason, Hardeeville Elementary
  • LaQuandra Stevenson, Hardeeville Elementary
  • Sylvia Cobb, Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle
  • Euphemia Southall, Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle
  • Julie Chapman, Royal Live Oaks Charter Academy
  • Greg Dixon, Royal Live Oaks Charter Academy
  • Tom Hubbard, Royal Live Oaks Charter Academy
  • Karen Creech, Step of Faith Christian Academy
  • Linda Stanley, Thomas Heyward Academy.