Deadline to file for Beaufort City Council noon Wednesday

147873 articles in the archive and more added every day

Deadline to file for Beaufort City Council noon Wednesday

Published Monday, August 13, 2012   |  280 Words  |  

The deadline to file for Beaufort City Council in the November's nonpartisan election is noon Wednesday.

Three seats will be at stake. So far, the only candidates are incumbents -- Mayor Billy Keyserling and councilmen Mike McFee and George O'Kelley Jr.

Filing fees are $150 for a council race and $250 for the mayoral race.

City Council has five members -- a mayor and four council members, all elected at-large.

Filing information is available on the city's website,

In other election news, the Beaufort County Board of Elections and Registration announced Monday it has approved petitions for several candidates who will appear on the ballot for the Nov. 6 election.

Candidates for the Beaufort County Board of Education are:

District 1 -- Earl Campbell

District 3 -- Michael F. Rivers Sr., Bernie Schein and Fred S. Washington Jr.

District 4 -- James Beckert and Brian D. Herrmann

District 5 -- Geri Kinton and Ron Speaks

District 6 -- Paul M. Roth and Bert F. Walker

District 8 -- Al Bischoff, Mary Cordray and Elisabeth G. Riordan

District 9 -- Laura Bush

District 11 -- Reid V. Eikner and JoAnn Orischak

Also making the ballot is Forrest Dan Duryea, candidate for the County Council District 7 seat, and Denise M. Parsick, candidate for Soil and Water Conservation commissioner.

A petition submitted by Evva Anderson for the School Board District 7 seat did not have enough valid signatures, so her name will not be on the ballot.