Primary filings open today for 18 elected offices affecting Beaufort County

147873 articles in the archive and more added every day

Primary filings open today for 18 elected offices affecting Beaufort County

Published Thursday, March 15, 2012   |  611 Words  |  

The filing period begins today for 18 partisan offices affecting all or parts of Beaufort County.

Candidates can file to be on the ballot in the state's June 12 primary from noon today until noon March 30. The primary winners advance to the November elections.

Two U.S. House of Representatives seats, 10 state-level seats and six county seats are up for election.

Ten Beaufort County Board of Education seats will be on the November ballot, as well as some town elections, but those are nonpartisan positions that won't be listed on the June primaries' ballots.

To file for the primaries, candidates must submit two forms.

The first, a statement of intention, must be given to a designated official of the Democratic or Republican parties.

The second, a statement of economic interest, must be submitted to the S.C. State Ethics Commission.

Candidates are also required to pay a filing fee, which is used to fund the primaries.

A primary runoff would be June 26, if required, according to the State Election Commission.

The following partisan offices affecting Beaufort County are up for election:

U.S. House of Representatives, Districts 1 and 6: Redistricting will put most of the county in the 1st Congressional District. U.S. Rep. Tim Scott, R-Charleston, is the district's incumbent. District 6 is represented by Rep. Jim Clyburn, D-Columbia.

S.C. Senate, Districts 43, 45, 46: Sen. Tom Davis, R-Beaufort, announced Thursday his intentions to file for re-election. Davis will run for a second term to represent District 46. George "Chip" Campsen, R-Charleston, has also announced his intentions to run for re-election. Redistricting has put Port Royal and Lady's Island areas in his 43rd District. Sen. Clementa Pinckney serves District 45, which also includes Jasper County.

S.C. House of Representatives, Districts 118 and 120-124: County Council Chairman Weston Newton and County Councilman Jerry Stewart have both said they'll run for the newly drawn District 120 seat. Rep. Bill Bowers, D-Hampton, currently holds the office but was carved out of the district. Rep. Bill Herbkersman, R-Bluffton, represents District 118; Rep. Andy Patrick, R-Hilton Head Island, District 123; Rep. Shannon Ericson, R-Beaufort, District 124; Rep. Ken Hodges, D-Green Pond, District 121; and Rep. Curtis Brantley, D-Ridgeland, District 122.

County Clerk of Court: Jerri Ann Roseneau was appointed to the position in 2009 after former clerk Elizabeth Smith resigned. Roseneau said she plans to run for the seat as a Republican. Smith was convicted by a county jury in September 2010 of embezzling about $338,500 and misconduct in office. A federal court convicted her of conversion of public money in September 2011.

Solicitor, 14th Judicial Circuit: The incumbent for this state office is Duffie Stone.

County Coroner: The incumbent is Ed Allen.

County Council Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7: The incumbents are Gerald Dawson, Bill McBride, Brian Flewelling and Herbert Glaze, respectively.

Related content

  1. Redistricting plan brings Port Royal, Lady's Island a new state senator, Sept. 24, 2011
  2. Federal judge sentences former clerk of court to house arrest, Sept. 22, 2011
  3. Beaufort County Councilman Stewart announces S.C. House candidacy, Jan. 26, 2012
  4. Beaufort County Council chairman to run for S.C. House, Jan. 23, 2012